18:41 PM

Buckeyes named B1G Distinguished Scholars

The Big Ten Conference honored 131 student-athletes from The Ohio State University as 2018-19 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars. The conference announced the honors today.

This year’s group of Buckeyes surpasses last year’s record total of 129. Ohio State has led the Big Ten in total scholars for four consecutive years.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program.

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year and earned a GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career.

Of the 131 Buckeyes honored, 16 of them achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA: Makayla Waterman (women’s basketball), Lainey Studebaker (women’s cross country), Ethan Edwards (fencing), Benjamin Marcus (fencing), Aleksandra Kolmykova (fencing), Joey Wilmot (men’s gymnastics), Nevin Adamski (women’s gymnastics), Lukas Buckley (men’s lacrosse), Emily Skrzypczak (women’s lacrosse), Anjali Fernandes (rowing), Michaela Nordhaus (rowing), Kat Duvall (softball), Reed McGraw (men’s swimming & diving), Lara Tarvit (women’s swimming & diving), Sarah Walsh (synchronized swimming) and Lauren Witte (women’s volleyball).

Click here for a complete list of 2018-19 Ohio State’s B1G Distinguished Scholars