12:00 AM

Facts on Spring 2006 Commencement

The Ohio State University
Sunday, June 11, 2006
1 p.m., Ohio Stadium

Associate 68
Bachelor's 5121
Master's 1404
Doctoral 191
Professional 854
Certificates 5
Total: 7,643

PRESIDING OFFICER: President Karen A. Holbrook.

WELCOMING REMARKS: Richard A. Hollingsworth, associate vice president for Student Affairs.

COMMENCEMENT SPEAKER: John S. McCain, U.S. Senator from Arizona.

HONORARY DEGREES: Honorary doctorates will be presented to two Nobel laureates: Alan J. Heeger, professor of physics and materials (engineering) at the University of California at Santa Barbara; and Alan G. MacDiarmid, professor of chemistry and physics at the University of Texas at Dallas and professor of chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania.

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD: The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Barbara K. Fergus, owner/partner of Midwestern Auto Group of Dublin; and to Ernest W. Johnson, professor emeritus in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

INVOCATION: Dana Schroeder, director of Pastoral Care, University Hospitals.

NATIONAL ANTHEM and CARMEN OHIO: Emily Rogers, candidate, Master of Music, College of the Arts.