18:00 PM

Kiplinger Program names 29 Fellows for 2014

Twenty-nine journalists from newsrooms around the world will make up the 2014 class of Kiplinger Fellows to visit The Ohio State University this spring.

The 2014 class, the largest ever, includes reporters and editors from a diverse range of news organizations in the United States and eight other countries: Canada, China, Great Britain, Greece, Kenya, Philippines, Sweden and the Ukraine.

More than 600 journalists applied for the fellowship program, which will take place April 6-11 on the Ohio State campus in Columbus.

“The ever-increasing number of applicants continues to show the prestige of the Kiplinger Program,” said Doug Haddix, Kiplinger Program director and an assistant vice president in University Communications at Ohio State. “It is a one-of-a-kind fellowship, and our 4 percent acceptance rate makes it a coveted award. We are proud to have this impact.”

The Fellows will receive intensive, hands-on training in social media, data journalism, video and other tools to thrive in the digital age. “We not only pride ourselves on the quality of Fellows, but our trainers are renowned in the digital media world. This will be one of the most intense and progressive weeks of training they can receive,” Haddix said. “They will return to their newsrooms with new skills and strategies for telling more compelling stories in print, online and on mobile devices.”

The international 2014 Kiplinger Fellows are:
•Sue Allan, managing editor, Maclean’s magazine, Canada
•Nikolia Apostolou, freelance videographer, Greece
•David Dizon, deputy editor, ABS/CBN, Philippines
•Moa Frygell, web editor/anchor, Sveriges TV, Sweden
•Stuart Hughes, senior world affairs producer, BBC, England
•Meilian Lin, senior reporter, Global Times (Beijing), China
•Christopher Miller, editor, Kyiv Post, Ukraine
•Charles Ogallo, news editor/chairman, Kenya Online Journalists Association, Kenya

The U.S. 2014 Kiplinger Fellows are:
•Rebecca Baker, managing editor, New York Law Journal, New York City
•April Bethea, online producer, Charlotte Observer, N.C.
•Carli Brosseau, investigative reporter, Arizona Daily Star, Phoenix
•Evan Bush, social media editor, Seattle Times
•Ada Calhoun, freelance writer, New York City
•John Diaz, editorial page editor, San Francisco Chronicle
•Rebecca Dolan, online community editor, Kiplinger magazine, Washington, D.C.
•Hannah Dreier, gambling reporter, Associated Press, Las Vegas
•Michelle Everhart, assistant public affairs editor, Columbus Dispatch, Ohio
•Claritza Jimenez, news producer, Associated Press TV Network, Washington, D.C.
•Brendan McCarthy, managing editor, Kentucky Center - Investigative Reporting, Louisville
•James Pilcher, investigative reporter, Cincinnati Enquirer, Ohio
•Hilary Powell, reporter, Lakeshore Public Media, Merrillville, Indiana
•Silvia Salgado, senior producer social media, Univision network, Miami
•Bridget Shirvell, audience engagement, PBS News Hour, Washington, D.C.
•Michael Soraghan, reporter, Energywire/E&E Publishing, Washington, D.C.
•Peter St. Cyr, reporter, Santa Fe Reporter, N.M.
•Catherine Strawn, contributing editor, Country Living magazine, Philadelphia
•Clare Trapasso, reporter, New York Daily News, New York City
•Mary Troyan, correspondent, Gannett Corp., Washington, D.C.
•Lynn Walsh, interactive digital producer, E.W. Scripps Co., Cincinnati, Ohio

Speakers and trainers participating in the program include Mark S. Luckie, creative content manager of journalism and news, Twitter; Sona Patel, staff editor for social media, The New York Times; Andrew Springer, senior editor of social media, ABC News; Robert Hernandez, assistant professor of professional practice, University of Southern California; Robin J. Phillips, digital director, the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism at Arizona State University; Andy Boyle, news applications developer, Chicago Tribune; Jeff Cutler, social media strategist; Carl Corry, online local news editor, Newsday; Mandy Jenkins, managing editor, Digital First Media; and Randy Walk, multimedia producer, Ohio State University.

The program has evolved since its founding, transitioning to digital media fellowships in 2011. In addition to the weeklong fellowship, the program offers workshops and training across the country. In 2013, Kiplinger Program training reached nearly 1,200 journalists. Full information about the Kiplinger Program is available at www.kiplingerprogram.org.

The Kiplinger Program was endowed at Ohio State in 1973 by Austin Kiplinger in honor of his father, W.M. Kiplinger, one of the university’s first journalism graduates in 1912. W.M. Kiplinger pioneered a new kind of journalism when he became publisher of The Kiplinger Letter and later Kiplinger’s Personal Finance. He has been described by his son as “a dedicated journalist, a muckraker and an inspiration to young journalists… a very original thinker."

About The Ohio State University
The Ohio State University is a dynamic community of diverse resources, where opportunity thrives and where individuals transform themselves and the world. Founded in 1870, Ohio State is a world-class public research university and the leading comprehensive teaching and research institution in the state of Ohio. With more than 63,000 students (including 57,000 in Columbus), the Wexner Medical Center, 14 colleges, 80 centers and 175 majors, the university offers its students tremendous breadth and depth of opportunity in the liberal arts, the sciences and the professions.