06:14 AM

Lawrence Andrews, a global innovator in the field of orthodontia, to be recognized at Ohio State alumni awards ceremony

Lawrence Andrews, an innovative manufacturer of orthodontic appliances now standard throughout the world, is the recipient of the Ohio State University Alumni Association’s 2015 Alumni Medalist Award. The award, which recognizes national and international career achievements, is the highest honor bestowed to an alumnus. He is among a group of 11 distinguished alumni who will be recognized at the 57th annual awards ceremony Sept. 18 at the Fawcett Event Center, 2400 Olentangy River Rd.

A resident of La Jolla, Calif., and practicing dentist for more than six decades, Andrews earned his DDS from Ohio State in 1954 and orthodontic certificate in 1958. He is currently a clinical professor at the University of California at San Francisco; co-director of the L.F. Andrews Foundation for Orthodontic Education and Research; and the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists.

Brief capsules of the 2015 honorees follow. Complete profiles and images are available on the Ohio State Alumni Association website.


  • Dan L. Heinlen Award for university advocacy: John C. “Jack” Fisher, Columbus, Ohio (BA Animal Science, 1967; MS Animal Science, 1969). Fisher serves as executive vice president of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, Ohio’s largest general farm organization with more than 201,000 members. He is also a member of the Columbus 2020 Economic Development Board and is a former member of Ohio State’s Board of Trustees and the board of BioOhio.
  • Josephine Sitterle Failer Award for volunteer service to students: Dottie Lee Wilker, Columbus, Ohio(BS Education, 1957). A former staff member of the Ohio State alumni association, Wilker’s volunteer efforts have been critical to the success of Ohio State’s Alumnae Scholarship Housing program, which provides low-cost housing to undergraduate students.
  • Archie M. Griffin Professional Achievement Award for career achievement: Susan Mallery, Columbus, Ohio (BS Zoology, 1976; MA Physical Education, 1978; DDS, 1981; PhD Pathology, 1990). Mallery has earned four degrees from Ohio State and is currently a faculty member in the College of Dentistry. She also serves as an oral pathology consultant and researcher at The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute, where she has dedicated more than 30 years to researching new strategies to prevent oral cancer.
  • Archie M. Griffin Professional Achievement Award for career achievement:Anne Klamar, Versailles, Ohio (MD, 1990). Klamar launched a medical practice while supporting her families’ 100-year-old business, Midmark, Inc., a global manufacturer and supplier of medical, dental and veterinary equipment, products and diagnostic software. Klamar is an international industry leader, serving as the company’s president in 2000 and CEO in 2003.
  • William Oxley Thompson Alumni Award for early career achievement: Chad A. Endsley, Pickerington, Ohio (BS in both Agriculture and Applied Economics, 2003; JD 2006). Endsley serves as general counsel for the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, the largest agricultural organization in Ohio with more than 200,000 members.He is a leading advocate for the Ohio farming industry, which generates $105 billion annually and is the state’s No. 1 industry.
  • Ralph Davenport Mershon Award for service to Ohio State: William Gue, Atlanta, Ga. (BS Business Administration, 1963). Gue served as president of the Ohio State Alumni Club of Atlanta where during his 16-year tenure, the membership grew from 60 to nearly 300 dues-paying members. His efforts led to the establishment of an endowment, which supports a full-tuition scholarship for an area student each year.
  • Ralph Davenport Mershon Award for service to Ohio State: William Simon, Chesterfield, Mo. (BS Animal Science, 1970; MS Animal Science, 1973). A successful business leader, Simon has served tirelessly as an alumni club volunteer and leader. As club president he has led a major effort to create an endowment scholarship. To date, nearly 20 St. Louis area students have received much-needed financial support.
  • Robert M. Duncan Alumni Citizenship Award for community service: Ryan Miller, Columbus, Ohio (BA Economics, 1997; MBA, Marketing, 2005). A former member of the Ohio State Buckeyes football team, Miller is co-founder of the nonprofit 2nd & 7 Foundation, started in 1999 to promote literacy and provide positive role models for children in central Ohio. The foundation has expanded nationally and over the past 16 years, more than 150,000 books have been given to second grade students across the country.
  • E. Gordon Gee Spirit of Ohio State Award: Brutus Buckeye. Brutus began promoting school spirit and sportsmanship on Oct. 30, 1965. Marking 50 years this fall, the modern-day Brutus is a member of the Ohio State’s Spirit Squad and appears at approximately 300 sporting events and 200 non-sporting events each year. Brutus was inducted into the Mascot Hall of Fame in 2007.

  • Diversity Champion Award: Leonard L. Haynes III, Silver Springs, Md. (PhD Educational Administration, 1975; DRH, Law, 1990). Haynes is a distinguished educator and is currently senior director for institutional service in the Office of Postsecondary Education at the U.S. Department of Education. He has been a member of the faculties of Southern, Howard and George Washington universities and is recognized as an expert on desegregation of public higher education and how it impacts public Black colleges.