09:00 AM

Ohio State senior football players honored in pregame ceremony

Seniors have combined for 54-6 overall record

The sea of scarlet in Ohio Stadium last Saturday included bouquets of roses that The Ohio State University football team’s senior players carried as they made their way onto the field.

More than two dozen Buckeyes were honored before the kickoff against Michigan State. Because the COVID-19 pandemic preempted last year’s pregame ceremony, this class includes players who joined the Buckeyes as early as 2016.

These student-athletes are the first senior class in Big Ten Conference history to win four consecutive outright Big Ten championships. Over the last five years, these seniors have combined for a 54-6 overall record and are 37-2 against Big Ten teams. They boast an undefeated record versus That Team Up North.

“One of the things, week in and week out, that I like to bring up is just that things go really, really fast and you can’t take anything for granted,” head coach Ryan Day said earlier this week. “Don’t wait until the last game to enjoy it, don’t wait for the last game to cry before you get on the field, and enjoy it and smell the roses because it goes really fast.”

The senior players honored include:

  • Sevyn Banks
  • Ryan Batsch
  • Chris Booker
  • Cameron Brown
  • Robert Cope
  • Aaron Cox
  • Haskell Garrett
  • Antwuan Jackson
  • Jack Jamieson
  • Cade Kacherski
  • Austin Kutscher
  • Jagger LaRoe 
  • Demario McCall
  • Thayer Munford
  • Chris Olave 
  • Nicholas Petit-Frere
  • Corey Rau
  • Bradley Robinson
  • Mitch Rossi
  • Jeremy Ruckert
  • Tyreke Smith
  • Master Teague
  • Sam Wiglusz
  • Marcus Williamson 

The senior managers Cati Ide, Brandon Merritts, Jake Waddell, Brody Whetsel and Isaac Wilson were also recognized.

Other notable accomplishments from this senior class are a Cotton Bowl victory over the University of Southern California, a Rose Bowl victory over Washington, two College Football Playoff appearances, a Sugar Bowl win over Clemson last year and a College Football Championship game appearance.

The final game of the regular season is Nov. 27 in Ann Arbor.

Share this