15:09 PM

Ohio State seniors honored in pregame ceremony

Players’ contributions recognized

When Ohio State University football team’s senior players made their way onto the field at Ohio Stadium Saturday, they carried bouquets of roses in recognition of their contributions.

Honorees included Kam Babb, a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete who was voted a team captain by his teammates in the fall of 2021, but missed playing the season because of a knee injury. He spoke at Ohio State President Kristina M. Johnson’s investiture and graduated in December 2021 with a bachelor’s degree in communications.

Also honored was Harry Miller, who is majoring in mechanical engineering and medically retired from collegiate football in the spring of 2022. He delivered the keynote address at the 13th annual Faces of Resilience event in September, which raised funds for The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center’s Stress, Trauma and Resilience (STAR) program and Ohio State’s Center for Psychiatry and Resilience.  

More than two dozen Buckeyes were honored before the kickoff against Michigan. Over the last three years under head coach Ryan Day, this class of seniors has achieved a 45-4 record, a 31-1 record vs. Big Ten competition, including 23 consecutive wins, and a 16-4 record against teams ranked in the Top 25.

The other senior players honored include:

Jerron Cage

Cameron Brown

Palaie Gaeteote

Bradley Robinson

Mitch Rossi

Noah Ruggles

Tanner McCalister

Ryan Smith

Lloyd McFarquhar

Marcus Crowley

Javontae Jean-Baptiste

Tyler Friday

Zach Harrison

Xavier Johnson

Dawand Jones

Matt Jones

Teradja Mitchell

Josh Proctor

Taron Vincent

Ronnie Hickman

Michael O’Shaughnessy

The senior managers Drew Shisler and Eli Davis were also recognized.

Other notable accomplishments from this senior class are a Rose Bowl victory over Utah last year, a Sugar Bowl win over Clemson, two College Football Playoff appearances, and a College Football Championship game appearance.

Share this