04:55 AM

Ohio State Story Ideas for Media 2/8/18

BuckeyeThon dance marathon will benefit Nationwide Children’s Hospital– Feb. 9 and 10. BuckeyeThon, the largest student-run philanthropy in the state, is Friday and Saturday, Feb. 9 and 10 at the Ohio Union, 1739 N. High St.
BuckeyeThon supports the Hematology/Oncology/BMT department at Nationwide Children’s Hospital through events and activities throughout the year, culminating in the annual dance marathon.
This event has experienced tremendous growth and success since it began in 2002. That year, approximately 100 student dancers helped raise more than $32,000 for the hospital. This year, approximately 5,000 dancers hope to raise $2 million.
Students will dance in two shifts; 7 p.m. Friday to 7 a.m. Saturday, and 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Saturday. SEE: https://buckeyethon.osu.edu/Contacts: Dave Isaacs, Office of Student Life (Isaacs.84@osu.edu, 614-292-8424) or BuckeyeThon President Colin Quinn (quinn.342@osu.edu, 774-219-5024)

Taste of OSU 2018 delivers international cuisine and cultural performances – Feb. 16. The Office of International Affairs, Office of Student Life’s Dining Services chefs and more than 40 Ohio State student organizations are preparing an evening of international food, exhibits and cultural performances at Taste of OSU on Friday, Feb. 16, from 5 to 8:30 p.m. at the Ohio Union, 1739 N. High St. Admission is free and tickets to purchase small samplings of international food are available at the door and cost $1 each (cash and BuckID only). SEE: https://oia.osu.edu/taste-of-osu/4929-taste-of-osu-a-night-of-cultural-exchange.html.

Academy names two professors as fellows. Richard Fishel and Shan-Lu Liu of The Ohio State University have been elected as fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology. Fishel is a professor of cancer biology and genetics. Liu is a professor of veterinary biosciences and director of the viruses and emerging pathogens program in Ohio State’s Infectious Diseases Institute. Fellows are elected to the group annually through a selective, peer-reviewed process that is based on scientific achievements and contributions to the advancement of microbiology.