12:00 AM

Ohio State University Leads Country Again In AAAS Fellows - 10/25/07

[Embargoed for release until 2 PM ET Thursday (10/25) to coincide with publication in the journal Science.]

COLUMBUS , Ohio – For the fourth time in the last five years, Ohio State University leads the country in having the most faculty chosen as “fellows” of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest scientific organization.

The announcement, carried in the latest issue of the journal Science, recognizes 15 Ohio State faculty for outstanding accomplishments in their respective academic disciplines, as decided by their peers.

Following Ohio State in numbers of fellows were the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign with 11; the University of California, Berkeley, University of Michigan, University of Texas, and Yale University, all with 10; Harvard University and the University of California, Riverside, both with nine, and the University of California, Irvine with eight new fellows.

Other Big Ten universities included the University of Minnesota with seven; Indiana University, Iowa State University, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison, all with five; Purdue, Penn State and the University of Iowa, all with three, and Michigan State University and Northwestern with two.

“This new class of AAAS fellows is just the latest indication of the exceptional quality of faculty we have here at Ohio State,” said President E. Gordon Gee. “Their knowledge and expertise in their respective scientific fields consistently benefit the people of both Ohio and the country.”

This year, the AAAS elevated 471 of its members to the rank of fellow, a designation that honors efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished, according to the organization.

This year's election brings the total number of AAAS fellows on the Ohio State campus to 142, perhaps the largest contingent at any one university.

This year's honorees include the following:

Kathleen Boris-Lawrie, professor of veterinary biosciences and of molecular virology, immunology, and medical genetics:  For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular virology, particularly in defining post-transcriptional control protein and RNA elements that modulate retrovirus replication and cell growth.

John C. Byrd, professor of pharmacy and associate professor of hematology and oncology:  For distinguished contributions in leukemia experimental therapeutics, including new drug development (rituximab and flavopiridol) and risk stratified treatment based upon genetics of the leukemia cell.

Kenneth K. Chan, professor of pharmacy and internal medicine:  For distinguished contributions to the field of pharmacology, particularly for applying stable isotopes in pharmacokinetics, drug metabolism research, and development of antitumor and antisense agents.

Larry J. Copeland, professor and chair of obstetrics and gynecology:  For distinguished contributions in the field of gynecologic oncology clinical trial research and for leadership in multiple professional Ob/Gyn organizations.

Matthew J. During, professor of molecular virology, immunology and medical genetics:  For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular and translational neuroscience, particularly using somatic cell gene transfer to study neuronal physiology and treat human disease.

Richard J. Furnstahl, professor of physics:  For pioneering contributions to the nuclear many-body problem, including developments in relativistic many-body theory, QCD sum roles at finite density, and effective field theory at finite density.

Somnath Ghosh, professor of mechanical engineering and of materials science engineering: For outstanding contributions to computational micromechanics, multi-scale modeling of structure-material interaction, and failure analysis for reliability predictions; for sustained ambassadorship across mechanics and materials communities.

Lee F. Johnson, emeritus professor of molecular genetics:  For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular genetics, particularly in studying the structure, regulation, and amplification of the thymidylate synthase gene.

Linda M. Lobao, professor of rural sociology and of sociology and of geography: For distinguished contributions to the field of rural sociology through research on spatial inequity and rural communities that has profoundly influenced the direction of the discipline.

Edward J. Malecki, professor of geography and in the John Glenn School of Public Affairs:  For pioneering research defining technology's role in economic and regional development, and for distinguished research on the dynamics of local, regional, and national competitiveness.

Susan R. Mallery, professor of oral pathology and of pathology:  For distinguished contributions to the field of oral oncology, particularly in the roles of oxidant stress and carcinogen metabolism in initiation of oral cancer.

Dennis B. McKay, professor of pharmacy:  For distinguished contributions to the understanding of nicotinic receptor expression and trafficking, and for exemplary commitment to the teaching of science.

Melvin L. Moeschberger, professor of statistics and professor emeritus in the College of Public Health:  For distinguished contributions to biostatistics and applied statistics, including co-authorship of textbooks on statistical concepts and survival analysis that have become classics for applied researchers.

David M. Murray, professor of epidemiology:  For distinguished contributions to the field of epidemiology, particularly on the design and analysis of group-randomized trials for assessment and effective intervention.

Steven J. Schwartz, professor of food science and technology: For distinguished contributions to the field of food chemistry and health, particularly antioxidants and other components related to chronic disease, oxidative stress, bioavailability, and cancer.


Contact: Earle Holland, (614) 292-8384; Holland.8@osu.edu.