18:00 PM

Retiring marching band director to dot the “i” at halftime

Jon Woods will celebrate his last home game in Ohio Stadium as director of The Ohio State University Marching Band (OSUMB) today (11/19). In a private ceremony this morning, the students in the band presented Woods with a written invitation to dot the “i” in Script Ohio during the halftime show at today’s’ game against Penn State. This game will be unique, as senior sousaphone player Jonathan Lampley will dot the “i” at its traditionally scheduled time during the pregame show on Saturday. At halftime, the band will present an encore performance of Script Ohio, capping off the 75th anniversary and honoring Jon Woods.

The honor of dotting the “i” with the OSUMB is something that only the students of the sousaphone section can approve. In this case, students in the sousaphone section, and then students in the rest of the band voted unanimously to extend to Jon Woods the single highest honor that band could bestow...the dotting of the “i” in Script Ohio.

Although he has conducted Script Ohio hundreds of times from the sidelines, and has witnessed many “i”-dots throughout his past 28 years as director, Woods has never had the opportunity to dot the “i.” Today the band salutes Woods as he steps to the top of the “i” in Script Ohio so that all of Buckeye Nation can thank him for his profound contributions to The Ohio State University.

Woods joins an elite group of individuals and couples that have been honored by being invited to dot the “i” with the OSUMB. Honorary “i”-dotters include: Bob Hope, Woody Hayes, golfer and alumnus Jack Nicklaus, Senator John Glenn, President Gee (during his first tenure as president), former Ohio State president Novice Fawcett, Board of Trustees chair Les Wexner, retired band directors Paul Droste and Jack Evans, retired ticket director Robert Ries, boxing champion Buster Douglas, and all 13 seniors of the 2002-2003 National Championship Football team (at the National Championship celebration)