12:00 AM

Trustees Personnel Actions - 07/13/93

Trustees' Personnel Actions


     COLUMBUS -- The Ohio State University Board of Trustees
Friday (7/9) named Robert G. Sherding and Barbara F. Reskin to
head the departments of Veterinary Clinical Sciences and
Sociology, respectively.

     They also formally appointed David Williams II as vice
president for student affairs, Beverly G. Toomey as acting dean
of the College of Social Work, and Sherri Geldin as director of
the Wexner Center for the Arts.

     Sherding of COLUMBUS (43217), acting chairperson and
professor of veterinary clinical sciences, was appointed
chairperson through June 1994.

     He earned his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from Ohio
State in 1973, spent a year in residency at Angell Memorial
Hospital in Boston, and then did his internal medicine residency
at the Ohio State Veterinary Hospital.  Sherding joined the
faculty in 1976, and later became head of the Small Animal
Medicine Section of the hospital.

     He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary
Internal Medicine.  His principal fields of interest are
gastroenterology, respiratory medicine, feline medicine, and
infectious diseases.

     Sherding succeeds William W. Muir III who returned to the
faculty earlier this year as a professor.

     Barbara F. Reskin of COLUMBUS (43214) is a professor of
sociology. A graduate of the University of Washington with three
degrees in sociology, Reskin taught at Indiana University and the
universities of Michigan and Illinois before joining Ohio State
in 1991.

     She conducts research in social stratification with special
interests in women and men in the work place.  Her work has
culminated in the publication of three books.

     Reskin teaches courses in sociology of work and
stratification, gender, and statistics and methods.  She has
served as vice president of the American Sociological Association
and as a Fellow of the Center for Advanced Studies in the
Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University.

     Her four-year term begins Oct. 1.  Reskin will succeed
Professor Krishnan Namboodiri, who will return to the faculty.

     Williams of COLUMBUS (43201) will oversee an $80 million
student services operation that includes Athletics, Counseling
and Consultation Service, Disability Services, Ohio Unions,
Recreation and Intramural Sports, Residence and Dining Halls,
Student Life, Student Affairs, Student Personnel Assistantships,
and the Student Health Service.

     The appointment of Williams, who has been serving as vice
provost for minority affairs, is retroactive to July 1.  An
associate professor of law, he currently is teaching law students
in a summer program at Oxford University in England.  He has
Master of Business Administration and law degrees from the
University of Detroit and a Master of Laws degree in taxation
from New York University.  Williams succeeds Russell Spillman,
who is returning to the faculty of the College of Education.

     Toomey of UPPER ARLINGTON, a professor of social work, will
oversee a college with 27 regular faculty members and about 180
undergraduate and 450 graduate students.  She was appointed
acting dean retroactive to July 1.

     She has a bachelor's degree from Miami University and a
Master of Social Work degree and a doctorate from Ohio State.  A
faculty member since 1977, she won the Alumni Award for
Distinguished Teaching in 1988.  Toomey's research work has
included rural homelessness.  She has worked to improve the
planning skills of children's services agencies and to guide
outreach in prenatal health care.

     Richard Boettcher, whose second five-year term as dean
expired June 30, has returned to the faculty as professor.

     Geldin, the former associate director of the Museum of
Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, participated in practically
every aspect of the museum's planning and development.  She
helped establish and implement the museum's administrative,
programming and acquisitions policies.  She has a bachelor's
degree in art history and a Master of Business Administration
degree from the University of California at Los Angeles.  She
will begin her new duties as director of the Wexner Center on
Sept. 1, succeeding acting director William B. Cook.

     Trustees also appointed Gary D. Stoner to the Lucius A. Wing
Chair of Cancer Research and Therapy in the College of Medicine.
Before coming to Ohio State last year as a professor of
preventive medicine and pathology, Stoner was director of
experimental pathology and professor of pathology at the Medical
College of Ohio in Toledo.

     The board reappointed:

     ~ Dorothy M. Zakrajsek of COLUMBUS (43221) as director of
the School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, through
December 1993.

     ~ Sharon V. Redick of WORTHINGTON as chairperson of the
Department of Home Economics Education, through June 1994.

     ~ Lucy R. Sibley of POWELL as chairperson of the Department
of Textiles and Clothing, through June 1994.

     ~ Glen F. Hoffsis of ASHVILLE as director of the Veterinary
Hospital, through June 1994.

     ~ John N. Reeve of POWELL as chairperson of the Department
of Microbiology, through June 1997.

     ~ Peter W. Pappas of COLUMBUS (43212) as chairperson of the
Department of Zoology, through June 1997.

     ~ Tien H. Wu of WORTHINGTON as acting chairperson of the
Department of Civil Engineering, through September 1993.

     In addition, trustees named:

     ~ Herman R. Bobbitt Jr. of COLUMBUS (43212) as professor
emeritus of the Department of Management and Human Resources,
retroactive to July 1.

     ~ Marajean L. Marvin of WESTERVILLE, associate professor
emeritus of the School of Music, effective Sept. 1.

     ~ William C. Rigsby of COLUMBUS (43221), associate professor
emeritus of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology,
retroactive to July 1.

     Trustees awarded promotions with tenure to 14 faculty
members.  The board also appointed two doctors and reappointed
122 others to the staff of the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital
and Research Institute.
Contact:  Tom Spring, University Communications,
          (614) 292-8309.
Written by Tom Spring.

[Submitted by: GERSTNER  (gerstner@ccgate.ucomm.ohio-state.edu)
Tue, 13 Jul 93 12:51:44 EST]
All documents are the responsibility of their originator.