11:02 AM

The Ohio State University Alumni Association honors extraordinary alumni

Acton recognized for pandemic response

Amy Acton, director of The Columbus Foundation’s new Kind Columbus initiative and former director of the Ohio Department of Health, has earned the 2020 Alumni Medalist Award from The Ohio State University Alumni Association for her leadership in navigating the state’s response to COVID-19.

Acton will be recognized today, Sept. 24, during a virtual ceremony, along with eight other distinguished award recipients.

In addition to this highest honor from the alumni association, Dr. Acton, who holds a master’s degree in public health from Ohio State, received national and international attention for her response to the pandemic.

She elevated the needs of public health and secured resources throughout Ohio to effectively slow the spread of the virus. By sharing personal stories and guiding with empathy, she educated the citizens of Ohio during daily press conferences, urging them to take preventative measures. Through her efforts, she positioned Ohio to serve as a model for many other states across the country.

This year’s full list of award recipients includes:

  • Dan L. Heinlen Award: David E. Schuller, MD (MD, Medicine, 1970)
  • Diversity Champion Award: Duane Elliott Reynolds (MHA, Health Administration, 2004)
  • Josephine Sitterle Failer Award: Jeffrey M. Wittmann (BS, Humanities, 1980)
  • Archie M. Griffin Professional Achievement Award: John R. Raymond Sr., MD (BS, Psychology, 1978; MD, Medicine, 1982)
  • William Oxley Thompson Award: Neethi Johnson (BS, Biology, 2019; MBA, Business Administration, 2019)
  • Ralph Davenport Mershon Award: Elizabeth Banbury Germain (BS, Communications, 1982)
  • Robert M. Duncan Alumni Citizenship Award: Brian L. Amison, DDS (DDS, Dentistry, 1997)
  • E. Gordon Gee Spirit of Ohio State Award: Ohio Staters, Inc.

Share this