05:00 AM

AAAS names four Ohio State faculty as 2017 Fellows

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Four Ohio State University faculty were chosen to receive one of the most prestigious awards given to U.S. scientists.

The faculty were elected by their peers as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They were given the honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

New Fellows will be welcomed in a ceremony at the AAAS annual meeting in Austin in February.

Ohio State’s 2017 Fellows are:

James Beatty, professor of physics and astronomy, for distinguished contributions to experimental particle astrophysics, particularly studies of ultrahigh energy cosmic rays, neutrinos and antiparticles, and for distinguished service as an academic leader.

Richard Fishel, professor of cancer biology and genetics, and of physics, for the invention of novel medical devices used in the treatment of many illnesses, thereby improving the health and saving the lives of millions of patients around the world.

Andrea Grottoli, professor of earth sciences, for distinguished contributions to the field of coral reef status and resilience, and to coral biogeochemistry pertaining to climate change, surface seawater warming and ocean acidification.

Li Wu, professor of veterinary biosciences and of microbial infection and immunity, for distinguished contributions to the field of molecular virology, particularly for the mechanisms of HIV replication and the virus interactions with host cells.

These Ohio State faculty were among 396 AAAS members who received the honor this year. Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society. The first AAAS Fellows were elected in 1874.

Ohio State now has more than 100 AAAS Fellows.