09:20 AM

Kiplinger Fellows in digital journalism selected at The Ohio State University

Twenty journalists representing some of the top newsrooms around the globe have been named 2016 Kiplinger Fellows at The Ohio State University.

The 2016 class includes reporters and editors from a diverse range of news organizations in the United States and six other countries: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Nigeria, the Philippines and Mexico.

More than 300 journalists applied for the fellowship, which will take place April 3-8 on the Ohio State campus in Columbus.

“The quality of journalists who apply each year continues to impress us,” Kiplinger Program director Doug Haddix said. “We have an outstanding mix of experience and diversity in this year’s group. Newspapers, TV and radio stations, and wire services are represented.”

During their week on campus, Kiplinger Fellows receive intensive, hands-on training in social media, data journalism, smartphone video and other tools to thrive in the digital age.

“Kiplinger Fellows return to their newsrooms with new skills and strategies for telling compelling stories using digital tools and apps,” Haddix said. “They’ll join an impressive group of Kiplinger alumni working in newsrooms around the world.”

The international 2016 Kiplinger Fellows are:

  • Alberto Arce, The New York Times Américas, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Kofoworola Belo-Osagie, The Nation, Lagos, Nigeria
  • Alex Cavalcanti, TV Vitória, Vitória, Brazil
  • Charmaine Deogracias, Nippon Hoso Kyokai TV, Manila, Philippines
  • Zeljka Lekic-Subasic, Eurovision News Exchange, Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Iain Marlow, The Globe and Mail, Vancouver, Canada

The U.S. 2016 Kiplinger Fellows are:

  • Lori Aratani, The Washington Post, Washington, D.C.
  • Jeremy Boren, The Tribune-Review, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Brad Branan, The Sacramento Bee, Sacramento, California
  • Adam Causey, The Associated Press, Phoenix, Arizona
  • Janet Cho, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Sean Driscoll, The Cape Cod Times, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
  • Tracy Loew, The Statesman Journal, Salem, Oregon
  • Ed Lynch, Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Andrew Mach, PBS NewsHour, New York
  • Pia Malbran, In-Depth Films, New York
  • Lauren Migaki, NPR, Washington, D.C.
  • Patricia Montemurri, freelance, Detroit, Michigan
  • Christopher Nelson, NBC News, New York
  • Jill Riepenhoff, The Columbus Dispatch, Columbus, Ohio

In addition to the weeklong fellowship, the Kiplinger Program offers workshops and training across the country. Last year, program trainers reached nearly 1,800 journalists, students and educators. More information about the Kiplinger Program is available at www.kiplingerprogram.org.

The Kiplinger Program was endowed at Ohio State in 1973 by the late Austin Kiplinger in honor of his father, W.M. Kiplinger, one of the university’s first journalism graduates in 1912. W.M. Kiplinger pioneered a new kind of journalism when he became publisher of The Kiplinger Letter and later Kiplinger’s Personal Finance. He has been described by his son as “a dedicated journalist, a muckraker and an inspiration to young journalists… a very original thinker."