16:09 PM

Ohio State psychology and electrical engineering faculty honored as Distinguished University Professors

A professor who was among the first to study the psychological aspects of cancer and another recognized as a leader in the field of electronic materials and devices have been recognized with The Ohio State University’s highest honor.

Today, the Board of Trustees voted to award the title of Distinguished University Professor to Barbara Andersen, Distinguished Professor of Psychology, and Steven Ringel, Neal A. Smith Chair in Electrical Engineering.

“Both of them have outstanding records in teaching and learning, research and innovation and outreach and engagement. They have taught students at all levels, and their work is highly praised and widely published, and their service to the university and beyond is exceptional,” said Executive Vice President and Provost Bruce A. McPheron.

The Distinguished University Professor designation is awarded to full professors who have exceptional records in teaching; in research, scholarly or creative work; and in service. Selection includes membership in the President’s and Provost’s Advisory Committee and each receives a one-time award of $30,000 for scholarly work. Only 58 other faculty members share the title.

Andersen joined Ohio State’s faculty in 1989. Her research is at the crossroads of health psychology and behavioral medicine. She studies the psychological, behavioral and biologic aspects of cancer and their relationship to the progress of the disease.

“It’s a tremendous honor,” Andersen said. “The university has so many wonderful faculty and we’re not at it just to win awards, you know. We’re at this because we love our work, we love training students and seeing it benefit the world.”

Andersen also holds a faculty appointment in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and is a member of the Cancer Prevention and Control Program in the Comprehensive Cancer Center.

She said her field of research required a level of interdisciplinary collaboration that only a university like Ohio State could provide.

“I really had to establish collaborations. And as it turned out that was really easy to do. There are really great, great people here,” she said.


Executive Vice President and Provost Bruce A. McPheron
They have taught students at all levels, and their work is highly praised and widely published, and their service to the university and beyond is exceptional
Executive Vice President and Provost Bruce A. McPheron

Ringel joined the university in 1991 and is the founding and current executive director of the Institute for Materials Research.

“Dr. Ringel is known as a visible, national and international leader in electronic materials and devices, and every year continues to contribute to the field, even in his growing leadership position at Ohio State,” McPheron said.

“It’s incredible. I've known about the Distinguished University Professor but I never thought that this would happen to me. To be acknowledged like this is amazing,” Ringel said. “That my peers think that of me is so gratifying and makes me really proud of my group research.”

Ringel is a recipient of the Distinguished Scholar Award, the College of Engineering’s Scott Award and a National Science Foundation National Young Investigator Award.

“I love Ohio State,” he said. “I did my PhD work at Georgia Tech, which is a technical university. It’s a great university but it’s not comprehensive. I wanted to be at a comprehensive university. I wanted to be around people who were thinking about human factors as well as engineering.

“Ohio State just has so many opportunities. You just have to walk around campus and find it.”