07:29 AM

Seven Ohio State scientists named AAAS Fellows

Honorees represent colleges of Arts and Sciences, Engineering and Medicine

The 2021 class of Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) includes seven Ohio State University investigators from the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.

The AAAS Fellowship, recognizing scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications, is one of the most prestigious honors a U.S. scientist can receive. Fellows are elected by their academic peers.

“The venerable tradition of American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowships includes such recognizable scientific greats as sociologist W. E. B. Du Bois, anthropologist Margaret Mead and astronaut Ellen Ochoa,” Ohio State President Kristina M. Johnson said. “As a scientist myself, I am honored on behalf of every member of the Ohio State community who has been selected to join this distinguished group of scientists, researchers, engineers and innovators. The range of achievements and contributions of our newest AAAS Fellows exemplifies how vital innovation and discovery are to enriching lives and building a better world.”

The 2021 class of AAAS Fellows includes 564 scientists, engineers and innovators spanning 24 scientific disciplines.  

Ohio State’s newest Fellows are:

  • Bear Braumoeller, professor of political science. For distinguished contributions to the fields of political methodology, social science theory and applied policy analysis.
  • Joshua Goldberger, professor of chemistry and biochemistry. For distinguished contributions to the field of materials chemistry, particularly for developing new two-dimensional and layered materials with applications in electronics.
  • Dorota Grejner-Brzezinska, professor of civil, environmental and geodetic engineering. For distinguished contributions to the field of positioning, navigation and timing with specific applications to personal navigation, autonomous mobility and navigation in GPS-denied environments.
  • Ayanna Howard, dean of the College of Engineering and professor of electrical and computer engineering. For significant contributions to human-robot interaction and for improving access and equity through artificial intelligence technologies.
  • Zihai Li, director of the Pelotonia Institute for Immuno-Oncology and professor of medical oncology. For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular immunology, particularly the roles of the heat shock protein 96 in chaperone biology, cancer progression, immune response and tolerance.
  • Michael Annan Lisa, professor of physics. For his development of azimuthally sensitive femtoscopy for relativistic heavy-ion collisions and his discovery, via global polarization measurements, of the unprecedented vorticity of quark-gluon plasma created in such collisions.
  • Harvey Miller, professor of geography. For novel, sustained and impactful scholarship on analytical time geography, GIScience and spatial analysis in a data-rich world, and sustainable mobility.

The new Fellows will be celebrated later this year during an in-person gathering when it is feasible from a public health and safety perspective.

Share this

Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn